TEN FACTS: The Brazilian Grand Prix

Katie Grimmett

1024px-Autódromo_José_Carlos_Pace_(AKA_Interlagos)_track_map.svgThe Brazilian Grand Prix has grown to be a classic and the country’s affiliation with Formula 1 is almost as timeless as the sport itself. As F1 fans bask in the glory of back-to-back weekends, here are the ten facts you need to know about the circuit, its drivers and the history of the Brazilian round…

  1. The inaugural Brazilian Grand Prix was held at Interlagos in February 1973 and was won by a home favourite, fittingly enough. Although Ronnie Peterson was the pole-sitter, Emerson Fittipaldi charged to the win for Lotus. A 1972 race was contested but did not feature in the World Championship.
  2. The Interlagos circuit, as it is most commonly known, is named after a fallen Brazilian driver. The Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace is named in honour of the 1975 winner following his death but rarely goes by this name. He was 32 when he was killed in…

View original post 466 more words


Leave a Reply & Thank you

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: